Wednesday, September 24, 2008

The Twelve Turnings of The Wheel


SUFFERING: Recognition: This is suffering.
Encouragement: Suffering should be understood.
Realization: Suffering is understood.

ARISING OF SUFFERING: Recognition: There is an ignoble way that has led to suffering.
Encouragement: That ignoble way should be understood.
Realization: That ignoble way is understood.

CESSATION OF SUFFERING: Recognition: Well-Being is possible.
Encouragement: Well-Being should be obtained.
Realization: Well-Being is obtained.

HOW WELL BEING ARISES: Recognition: There is a noble path that leads to Well-Being.
Encouragement: This noble path has to be lived.
Realization: This noble path is lived.